The Bloggers Recognition Award!

welcome_banner_gif_by_winterette-d73is2l

Hello, my lovely readers! I know, I’m quite late to this boat, and I know, I haven’t been posting much. Queertastic gets busy once she’s in school, chasing your dreams gets tiring every now and then. If there’s one thing I’ve learnt, though, it’s that late is better than never. Varun over at myartandme.com (he has a lot of kickass poetry, I suggest you check him out) has nominated me for the Bloggers Recognition Award, and after reading about it a little more, I think it’s an awesome way to spread goodwill within the blogger community.

Now, there’s a few rules that come with accepting this award, so I’ll just get over with the formalities and list them out below:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you (thank you, Varun) and link to their blog
  2. Write a post to show your award (done)
  3. Briefly tell people how you began blogging
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award (wow, that’s a lot of bloggers… I’ll see if I even have 15 friends xD)
  6. Let the lovelies that you’ve nominated know that they now have this shiny nomination!

So basically, I ventured into WordPress looking for a place to vent and be myself. There’s a lot of things I can say and do as Queertastic that I cannot as myself. Things like talking about my sexuality, my past issues with mental health, even embarrassing shit like raving about my crushes and relationships. Queertastic was just a space I needed to create and write as myself, and it morphed into a way to reach people like me. I later expanded to write for BayArt and now blogging has become a way to pursue my love for poetry as the poetry editor for BayArt. I’m running a featured poetry program (check it out here) which brings me my weekly dose of joy. If there’s any takeaways from this that I think new bloggers could learn from (I feel so strange writing this though, because I feel like a newbie myself) it would be a) follow your passions and b) don’t be afraid to be original, innovative, and proactive. To me, these tips basically mean that at any point, you shouldn’t ever be writing about something you aren’t passionate about. If your blog is a personal one like mine is, this is key to producing content that you love no matter what that content might be. It could be a petty rant, or a deep unwritten letter, or a strange metaphor you’ve had in the back of your mind for a while. I think those two tips compliment each other, and they’re in my opinion the most important things behind writing.

Now, on to nominations. The lovelies that I’m nominating are:

Belle Unruh, https://whoisgodsite.wordpress.com/ 

 the monarch of midnight

 fauxcroft

 Bold Soul

Lira, heartbeatsblue

 thegreenteafashioncafe

 The Sound of Ed’s Voice

 AVA

 Broken, Tainted Glasses

 Alisa Hutton, dusted words

Kim, I Like Things

 Breath Math

 Midnight Ranter

♥ Heartlectics

 life is a gift

Go forth with your nominations, and once again thank you to all my (admittedly limited) readers for sticking around and being awesomesauce 

6 comments

  1. kimkasualty · January 25

    You’re a cool cat, thanks for the nomination 😀 you’ve been awesome to read, keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lira · January 25

    Oh yay! Thank you so much for the nomination! I am honored.
    I definitely don’t have 15 friends on WordPress anymore, though (hey, I’m not totally friendless, k? I have you!). 😂 But I will work on it, I promise. Will be posting my BRA soon.

    Many hugs!

    Lira

    Liked by 1 person

    • queertasticblog · January 25

      haha okay so I’m still sixteen hence every immature so when I first read “BRA” I just burst into a fit of giggles, cause I only started wearing those a few years ago xD Anywhoo, I’m happy we’re frens :’)

      Like

  3. BelleUnruh · January 26

    Thanks for the nomination. My next post is already promised to someone else, so I’ll have to do this later. Thanks again.

    Like

    • queertasticblog · January 31

      No problemo hun, all I wanted to do was show you some appreciation! (and don’t worry, I was a month late on this one lol) ❤ take care 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

